The 10 Films

Sandrine from Contrechamp posted recently her favorite films list. I will try to do the same, but instead of listing them all, I will take some time and add them one by one slowly. Below I try to figure out how to come to this small number of ten.

1) Canyon Passage (Tourneur)
3) (probably) Videodrome
4) (probably) Being John Malkovich
10) Ganja and Hess (1973) directed by Bill Gunn
The only film of this list I have never seen, but I am still dreaming about. I read the screenplay (Screenplays of the African American Experience edited by Phyllis Rauch Klotman, ISBN 0-253-33145-5). By the way, Ganja and Hess was the critic’s choice at the 1973 Cannes Festival. See also this essay.

2) A film of Ozu or Kitano or Wong Kar-Wai or Hou Hsiao-Hsien or Edward Yang or one of all of them:
Ozu: I guess Tokyo Story. I have seen it again recently (Criterion) and it is splendid. I also like David Bordwell’s book about Ozu
Kitano: Hana-Bi or his second one, Boiling Point aka 3×4 10月
Wong Kar-Wai: Days of Being Wild or Fallen Angels
Hou Hsiao-Hsien: The Puppetmaster
Edward Yang: Yi Yi
5) Pursued (Raoul Walsh) or The Beguiled (Don Siegel) or Heaven’s Gate (Cimino)
6) A Godard definitely: Sauve qui peut la vie? Prénom Carmen? Nouvelle Vague?
7) Sans Soleil or Le Tombeau d’Alexandre from Chris Marker? Le Bonheur from Medvekine? The first two films of Kira Muratova? Boris Barnet?
8) Peau d’Âne (Demy) which I rediscover with my kids? There is another film for kids which is french and totally crazy, but I do not remember its title nor its director. A Miyazaki?
9) The Red Shoes or Black Narcissus (Powell and Pressburger) or Badlands de Terence Malick or Andrei Roublev (Tarkovski)

2 Gedanken zu „The 10 Films

Kommentar verfassen

